Oral Language between session task- Oral Language

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      leannew
      Participant

We completed the ‘What did you have for Lunch?’ task with two EAL prep students. Both of these students came out somewhere in A2 of the continuum with grammatical features and text structure being their greatest needs. We then found it interesting to assess their performance against the VC. As there is no reference to grammar and structure of spoken language at Level F both of these students came out at expected level and even slightly above in some areas for one student. We therefore now have added value for the importance of the TEAL Continuum for our EAL students.

sharonk
      Participant

Hi Leanne, it is great that we now know the specific learning needs of these students. If they were just assessed at Level F these needs may have impacted on their progress later on.

claravina59
      Participant

I have been an EAL teacher at my school for this year only and am part time so the learning curve for me at the moment is quite steep. I am preparing to give the oral assessment task “Story Retell’ to one of my Chinese students who is in Year 3. Having read all the preamble for this task I am puzzled by the need to use a story the student has already completed a writing task for. I understand the student should definitely be familiar with the story used, but thought that only using a story that has been a writing task, would limit the material I can use.

claravina59
      Participant

I completed the between session task -oral language task 3:story retell- with one of my Chinese students. Her retell of a level 20 text “A new classroom” was exceptional , given she spoke very little English in February. when marking the oral assessment criteria sheet, I highlighted statements in levels 2,3,and 4 so I would put her between B1 and B2 on the AusVELS EAL stages.